Every season a number of quizzes are sent to our officials to help them improve their understanding of the rules and procedures.

Quizzes from each season, with the answer, are included here as a resource.  Comments on the answers can be directed to ref@vfiha.com



Question #1:

The White team gets a minor penalty at 5:00 of the first period.

The Black team gets a minor penalty at 4:30 of the first period.

The Black team scores against the White team at 4:00 of the first period.

Does anyone come out of the penalty box and, if so, which team’s penalized player?  Explain you answer.

Answer:  No one comes out of the penalty box.  Neither team was playing short-handed at the time of the goal.

Question #2:

One player from each of the White and Black teams gets minor penalties at 5:00 of the first period.

  1. If the play was stopped in the White team’s defending zone, where is the face-off held?
  2. In the case of the teams having no other penalties, how many players on each team are at the resulting face-off?
  3. What do you say to the time-keeper about what goes on the clock?
  4. What do you say to the time-keeper when the penalized players are allowed out of their respective penalty box?


  1. The closest face-off dot in the White team's defending zone when the play was stopped.  Both teams were penalized
  2. The teams play 5-on-5 as they were coincidental minor penalties which cancel each other.
  3. Nothing is shown on the clock.
  4. The players can leave the penalty box at the first whistle after 3.00 of the first period.  Please note this is the case even if either of the teams gets more penalties which cause them to play short-handed.


Question #1:

Everyone now and again there’s a game when one of the teams doesn’t have a goalie. You are asked to advise the team’s coach what a player must wear to be the goalie (hint Situation 3 Rule 2.6 (c) ).

  1. At what division and above are the goaltender pads mandatory?
  2. Also, if the coach decides not to designate a goalie for the game, what should you advise he tell his players about what they can and can’t do in their own goalie crease?
  3. As a linesman, what do you need to keep in mind when considering whether to call an icing, or not, on the team without a goalie?


  1. PeeWee
  2. The players aren't allowed to cover the puck in the crease.  A penalty shot will be called.
  3. Unlike a goalie, a player is obliged to play the puck, if possible.  Also, remember that if they are playing short-handed there will be 5 players on the ice.

Question #2:

Let’s say the Black team is the team without a goalie and a some point they have a player in the penalty box for a minor penalty.  During the time of this penalty coincidental penalties are called.  The referee has the timekeeper put 2 minutes on the clock for both teams and each team is playing short-handed, with the Black team having an additional player in the penalty box. The resulting face-off is in the Black team’s end and after the face-off one of the Black players shoots the puck to the other end of the ice and the back linesman calls icing.

Please list all the details which are wrong and state how many players should be on the ice at the time of the face-off resulting from the coincidental penalties call.


  • There should be nothing shown on the clock for the coincidental penalties.  Only the remaining time of the previous penalty should be showing.  The time keeper needs to advised when the players with the coincidental penalties can leave the penalty box.
  • The Black team is still playing short-handed.  The back linesman shouldn't be calling icing.  The front linesman needs to loudly indicate there is no icing and wash the call.
  • The White team will have 5 players (plus their goalie) and the Black team will have 5 players on the ice at the time of the resulting face-off.


Penalty & Injury

Please have a look at the following video https://youtu.be/vyWYya5n5ug and answer these questions:

  1. Should play be stopped because of
    1. The injured player
    2. A penalty
    3. Both a & b
  2. When should the whistle be blown
    1. Immediately because of the injured player (provided no scoring opportunity)
    2. When the opposing team gains possession and control
  3. Which of the following should be called:
    1. No penalty
    2. Check from behind
    3. Boarding
    4. Body check
    5. Interference
    6. Other
  4. State the rule number for the penalty you would call (if you would call one).
  5. If a penalty, is it a minor or major (plus a Game Misconduct)?  Why?
  6. Is there a situation similar to this where a penalty wouldn’t be called?  If so, describe it.
  7. In a situation where a player is hurt and lying on the ice, state the steps you would take as an officiating team (assuming 3 Person System):


  1. Both a & b
  2. Immediately because of the injured player
  3. Body Check
  4. Rule 6.2(a)
  5. On delay, only a minor penalty.  If you determine an injury was sustained, elevate to a Major + Game Misconduct
  6. If the player cleanly took the puck first and the contact was secondary, there would be no call.  The caveat is that taking the puck first doesn't give you the right to take advantage of your opponent physically.
  7. See below:
  • Blow the whistle (either referee or linesman do do this) when opposing teams gains possession or immediately if it is obvious player has sustained a serious injury.
  • Invite the coach/trainer to the ice.
  • Direct the players to their respective bench (goalies remain at their net).
  • One linesman is positioned between the benches.
  • The other linesman is to oversee the coach and injured player.  The referee can stay away.

Penalty and Goal

I got the following email from one of our coaches:

"In our game against Langley Bantam C1 yesterday (Dec 4, Langley Twin Rinks), we had an unusual situation.  The Angels were down 3-1 on a PP when Langley took a (delayed) penalty.  During the delay, the Angels scored with 0:26 left on the penalty for the player already in the box. Rather than wash out the 0:26 and assess a full 2 minutes on the new player, the ref simply waved off the new penalty.  With the score now 3-2, 0:26 later that old penalty expired and we were back at even strength.  Our belief is that after the goal on the delayed penalty, we should have had a full 2-minute power play."

What does the rulebook say?

Answer:  The coach is correct.  See Situation 1 Rule 4.2(b)

Broken Stick

I’m sure you’ve been in a situation where you know that a penalty needs to be called but you aren’t quite sure what it should be and even when afterwards you check the rule book it still isn’t clear.  A defence player on the blue line shot the puck and the blade of her stick broke.  Despite being told by the nearby referee to drop her stick she carried it from one side of the rink to the other where her team’s bench was.  I blew my whistle to stop the play and she was given a minor penalty.

On the way to the time-keepers box I’m thinking, “I’m positive this calls for a penalty, but what is it called?”  Below is the section in the rules about broken sticks.

Rule 3.2 Broken Sticks

(a) A player or goaltender without a stick may participate in the game. A player or goaltender whose stick has been broken must drop the broken portions to the ice immediately. A Minor penalty shall be assessed for an infraction of this rule.  Note: When a player discards the broken portions of a stick by tossing them to the side of the rink (not over the boards) in such a way that they do not interfere with play or opposing players, no penalty shall be assessed.

You’ll see that it says “A minor penalty shall be assessed”.  What is the penalty?

Answer:  Illegal Equipment because the stick is broken. The penalty is on delay until her team gains possession of the puck. Or if for some reason, there was an immediate serious safety concern, stop play right away. But by default, delayed until her team touches the puck.


Broken Skate Blade

A player’s skate blade came off one of her skates.  What is the correct call for the referee to make?


There are several things to consider, the most important is player safety.  In this case we are not as concerned about the player who has the broken blade, more for the safety of the other players on the ice. If the blade is actually off the skate and is in the area of play (near the puck with the chance of being hit by a player), blow the play down.  If the blade if off and away from play, let play continue.  At the next stoppage an official can pick up the pieces (same as a broken stick).

If the question is regarding the player who has the broken blade…..there are no rules concerning this, and there is no reason to stop play unless the player's safety is at risk ( and falling isn’t a risk…..being impaled is a risk).

In short, this is no different than any other broken piece of equipment…..play on……unless common sense says it’s going to be dangerous

Non-Playing Player on the Bench

What is the minimum protective equipment a non-playing player has to wear who during a game is in the players’ bench area (i.e. this would normally be a previously injured player).  Should they be included on the game sheet roster?  Are they to be included in the maximum number of 17 players and 2 goalies?

Answer:  Everyone (players) on the bench, must be on the game sheet and have helmet and neck guard on.  This includes spare goaltenders and injured players.  Also of note is that in the case of AP players, on rep teams, they are still limited to the 17+2, so the injured player does take a roster spot

Face-off After Penalty Call

If a White team player trips a Black team player in the White team’s defending zone and consequently a penalty is on delay, state where the face-off should be if the whistle is blown when one of the white team players gains possession and control of the puck:

  1. In the Neutral Zone between their defending zone blue line and the centre line?
  2. In the Neutral Zone between the centre line and their attacking zone blue line?
  3. In their attacking zone?


  1. Nearest face-off dot in the neutral zone (not centre ice)
  2. Nearest face-off dot in the neutral zone (not centre ice)
  3. Outside the attacking zone at the nearest face-off dot.


State whether an assist is reported in the following situations:

  1. The player “scores” after a rebound off the goalie
  2. The player “scores” after the goalie redirects the puck


  1. Yes.  Goalie didn't have possession and control
  2. Yes.  Goalie didn't have possession and control

Possession and control by a goalie would include if she caught the puck or used her stick to move or shoot the puck.

Clock Not Started

We all know that if after a face off or during play, when an official notices an issue with the clock (not running) they should maintain the time count in their head and fix the clock at the next stoppage.  No need to stop play.  There are occasions where the clock may not start on time giving a team extra seconds to score.  For example, there is a tie game to determine a provincial championship berth.  The home team has an attacking zone face off with 10 seconds remaining in the game.  After the puck has been dropped, the back linesman notices the clock hasn't started. Should the play be stopped?


During a game if an official notices the clock has not started/stopped correctly, maintain play while keeping track of what the correct time should be at the next stoppage.

In the case where time would have expired but has not due to a time keeping error, the officials must stop play at the instance they have determined that regular playing time should have expired. This is best categorized under Rule 5.7 (d).

It is preferrable that the Referee be the official that stops play in order to maintain the integrity of Rule 5.3 (a) [Situation 1]. Communication between the officials on the ice is of the utmost importance when it the error is discovered. However, if the linesman stopping play at the appropriate time is the only way to do so accurately then they should blow the whistle to indicate the end of the game.

Rule 5.7 (d)

“In the event of any dispute regarding time, the matter shall be referred to the Referee in charge and his decision shall be final.”

Player Without a Neckguard

At a stoppage of play, the referee identifies  a player on team A not wearing the required BNQ neckguard.  The referee has the player return to the bench to put her neckguard on.  At that time the referee warns team A that any subsequent infractions would be penalized under rule 3.6 (f) and a misconduct would be issued.

Later in the game during play, the referee notices that a player from team A has entered play without a neckguard.  Team B is in possession and control of the puck.

Does the referee:

  1. Indicate a delayed penalty and when team A gains possession and control of the puck, stop play and issue a misconduct to team A player
  2. Ignore the situation and deal with it at the next stoppage
  3. Stop play immediately and issue the misconduct to team A player
  4. Yell at the offending player to get off the ice

Answer (Updated in 2016-2017 season)  Option 1. You can have a misconduct on a delayed penalty and if the other team scores before the play is stopped, the misconduct is still assessed.

Pulled Goalie 1

Team A pulled their goalie near the end of the 3rd period and the goalie left her stick in the crease across the entry to the net.

What should the referee call:

  1. If it prevents a goal while the goaltender is still in the act of leaving the ice?
  2. When the goaltender is off the ice or legally substituted within the 10 foot limit?
  3. If the opposing team doesn’t shoot on goal or shoots and misses the net?


  1. Minor penalty for Interference.
  2. Award a goal.
  3. Minor penalty for Interference.

This is covered by a couple of rules:

  • Situation 7 Rule 4.10(c)
  • Situation 8 Rule 7.3(f)

Pulled Goalie 2

It’s the last minute of the 3rd period the home team pulls their goalie when the play is in their attacking zone.  The play moves outside the attacking zone into the neutral zone along the boards with the players’ benches and the visiting team shoots the puck down the boards into the home team’s defending zone.  The goalie has been blocked from entering her team’s bench and freezes the puck against the boards with her skates with no visiting team players nearby.

What’s the call?

Answer  Immediate penalty for delay of game.

Late Arrival of Goalie

Here’s the situation:

  • The visiting team’s goalie is running late to the game.
  • The teams have already had the 5 minute warm-up.
  1. Can you as an official delay the game to wait for the goalie if both coaches agree to it?
  2. What can the visiting team do until the goalie is ready to join the game?
  3. If they use one person to protect the goal but have not designated the person as a goalie:
  4. Can this person wear any goalie equipment?
  5. Can they use a goalie stick?
  6. Can this person cover the puck in the crease?


  1. NO…the start of a game should not be delayed for any reason (see rule 10.15).
  2. The team may start with 6 skaters.
  3. NO, it’s an all or nothing situation.
  4. NO.
  5. NO (see rule 10.3 )

By the rules, the game cannot be delayed to wait for a player or goaltender.  In the event that a player or goaltender is going to join the game late, they must appear on the scoresheet prior to the start of the game.  In the situation where a goaltender is late the team may start with 6 skaters.  None of these skaters can be given goaltenders' privileges without being dressed in required goaltender equipment (see rule 2.6(c) situation 3).  If they elect to give a player goaltenders privileges then they must remain designated as a goaltender for the remainder of the game.

Once the goaltender is ready to join the game, the team will return to 5 skaters, the substitution for the goaltender may occur while play is underway, within the regular substitution rules.